The United Ancient Order of Druids (UAOD) was a
popular fraternity established in England in the late
1700s which spread to the United States in 1830. The
principals and ceremonies were loosely based on
ancient Druidic concepts including mutual support,
intellectual growth, virtue and social contribution.
A Druid's chapter, called a Grove, was instituted in
Olema in 1881. The Olema Druids Hall was constructed
in 1885 and used for many years as a meeting hall and
community center. Historical information and objects
from these years are displayed in the inn.
The organization sold the building in the 1950's
directly to the current owner's family. It was used at
first as a rustic family country retreat. After making
some initial minor improvements in the 1970's the hall
functioned as a strikingly atypical home.
Robert Cain drew up the complex and detailed plans for a full-scale renovation. The construction was done in phases over a period of years, using the best craftspeople and artisans in the Bay Area. Historically referenced material selections reinforced the refined understated elegance of this stunning inn.